Best New Arrivals for September Pt. One


Kellie lloyd: Fragile States (Indie)
-Across the breadth of Kellie Lloyd’s Fragile States is a personal resolve that invites intimacy and fosters confidence. With stringent guitars and undulating piano, Lloyd’s work is of great contemplative beauty. (Nick Rodwell)

Midas.Gold: Location (Single) (R.E.A.L Music)
- Midas.Gold’ confidence and ambition is second to none. This single has the flippant hook and the serious bars to show that his vision and hustle is one of the reasons for the ground swell of growth in Brisbane Hip Hop. (Nick Rodwell)

- Brissie based duo, also known as 'The Assembly' bringing a hard hitting but laid back release, be prepared to be actively drawn into the Chemical brothers type composition and beatles - esque vocal tracks. (Rhett Whittaker)

Pale Earth: Kumori (A Guide to Saints)
- Brisbane raised, Japan-based composer brings you this mind bendingly cold and isolating album of soundscapes, feels like what my dreams would sound like if I recorded them. (Rhett Whittaker)


30/70: Misrepresented (Single) (Rhythm Section International)
-This Melbourne troupe are going strength to strength. Misrepresented is a release that celebrates signing to acclaimed UK label Rhythm Section and the group’s ability to meld soul and jazz in a way that has both pop-appeal and deft musicality. (Nick Rodwell)

Billy Davis: Postcards (Feat. Jace XL) (Single) (Good Manners)
- Melbourne Lord of neo-soul, Billy Davis has dropped another banger as a gift to us in prep for his debut LP, A Family Portrait. It is a nod to 90's rnb, a slow grinder from start to finish, supported by soulful vox of Jace XL. Throw it on now and absorb all that is Postcards. (Luke Doig)

Black Rabbit George: Bring You In (Single) (Indie)
- Byron based Folk act bringing a eerily hypnotic track that'll get under your skin, I feel like this song is about sad cowboys, 'I'm gonna find you, I'm gonna bring you in'. (Rhett Whittaker)

Braille Face: Run For Your Life (Single) (Spirit Level)
- Melbourne based alternative artist has released a slow burning track with heavy electronic elements rising and falling throughout, sounds like society. (Rhett Whittaker)

Kable54: Volca Galaxies (Indie)
- Part of The Clan Analogue Collective, Kable54 has released a body of thick, acidic and rockin’ electronica. If you were gatewayed by the likes of the Stranger Things soundtrack then you really should sink your teeth into this, if you’re an analogue nerd than you’re really eatin’. (Nick Rodwell)

Tony Buck: Unearth (Room40)
- The Necks percussionist, Tony Buck, knows to get the mind working, this album is a black hole in time, if anything, the absolutely massive frequency range of this album makes it something like no other. wow. (Rhett Whittaker)

Tony Buck - Unearth from ROOM40 on Vimeo.

Seims: Cyan (Single) (Brid’s Robe / Art As Catharsis)
Underhandedly technical and textually immersive, Sydney’s Seims have produced some prog-rock that doesn’t get lost in the arse of ability, allowing for the grooves and the orchestration to remain compelling. (Nick Rodwell)


Broen: Time (Single) (Bella Union / [PIAS] / Inertia)
- I'm a lover of most music exports out of Scandanavia, especially when it comes to synth-rock, so it is no wonder that Time has hit high on my radar. The colourul five-piece hailing from Oslo and Mykonos, amplify the sweet sounds of alt-pop-rock like fellow Norwegians, Highasakite. It's lush layed vocals, sweet synths and guitars, so enjoy. (Luke Doig)

Haco: Qoosui (Room40 / Someone Good)
- Japan born Haco bringing you a beautiful and brain tinglingly inspiring album, The level of detail in these compositions is next level, her creativity is pure. This is the kind of music that'll help you wind down, and down, and down, and down, into nothingness. (Rhett Whittaker)

Haco - Tidal (from "Qoosui" 2017) from ROOM40 on Vimeo.

Noah Slee: Otherland (Wondercore Island)
- Noah Slee’s Otherworld is a traveller’s guide to the modern world of soul. Heartfelt and deeply moving with no sacrifice to melody or groove, his roots or the artist he is now. (Nick Rodwell)


Album Details

Album Title: Best New Arrivals for September Pt. One
Artist: Music Department
Record Label: